Phew……

Gosh it has been so long since I last blogged, honestly I just didn’t have it in me. So much of the last couple of years has just felt like I’ve been drowning, or at the very least treading water.

This week though I finally feel like I have started swimming again and found myself missing my blog, so here I am 🙂

So many things have happened over the last month, Miss 10 woke up one morning (3 am) and looked after mr 4 till 8, giving my husband and I a sleep in with us waking up to coffee and breakfast made by the kids. And since then I have seen so much more of my happy girl, and a lot less of the tweeny angst and attitude that has become so common place in our household, yay!

Mr 4 has been all over the place, multiple meltdowns per day, with his violent outbursts just increasing, however after talk with his psychologist and pediatrician he was put on anti anxiety meds which have helped him so so so much it’s like a miracle!!

Last week he started pre school, just one day per week and LOVED it! So now My husband and I will have 5 hours a week to ourselves during the school term for the first time in years, what an amazing thing!

Also Mr 4 slept in his own bed all night last night for the first time ever, and I think it would have taken him a lot longer to get up the courage to do that without the meds. So while I do have this heavy feeling of guilt over medicating my Autistic child, I also feel that his quality of life since taking them is so overwhelming better than it was before, it’s worth it.

As for me, well the daily migraines are still there with no hope in sight of them ever going away but my crafting gets me through the day, and I am looking forward to adding to my repertoire this year, by learning how to spin my own yarn.

And now onto the craft.

Over Christmas I discovered the joy of knitting my own socks, and fell in love. Not long after that I discovered the sock madness 9 competition on ravelry, and signed myself up. Round one is over, resulting in this gorgeous pair of socks

10410570_10153166842213615_6132791339201893308_n

Pattern can be found on ravelry here but will not be available to the public until after sock madness 9 has concluded.

I loved the pattern so much I am now making a second pair modified for Miss 10 while waiting for round 2 to start.

10998821_10153182469788615_5521499921336428390_n

Other wips I’m working on include some squares for charity blankets, my prarie star blanket is hibernating at the moment, I really need to pull it out and get it finished!

Also hibernating is a tempting which I really should pull out and give some love, and being worked on every now and then is a scarf I am making myself inspired by this scarf worn by Rick Castle in season 1 episode 2.

235025_1000

1920570_10153079908463615_3448675839105049794_nThe colours aren’t true to the scarf he is wearing, but I had to work with the materials I had on hand, (i’m trying to work mostly from stash this year) and I am quite happy with them.

So that is all I can really think of right now, I am thinking of changing up my format this year, so I’ll see you next week with some new stuff.

Happy crafting 🙂

One thought on “Phew……

  1. Margaret says:

    Glad to see this year has lots of improvements on the home front. Keep crafting and keep smiling gorgeous 😍

Leave a Reply

