Kids craft Sunday!

We are self confessed Christmas nuts here (except for hubby who has been nicknamed ‘scrooge’ my miss 8), and there is no such thing as too early for Christmas craft!

The kids have been wanting to paint for a while, and this year we have decided to do homemade cards and wrapping paper so today we got our potato on!

Yes our potato! This weeks kids craft is potato stamping, which is cheap, fun and looks great!

Materials needed:

Potatoes

A small bladed knife

acrylic paint

Paintbrushes

paper or card board

Optional:

cookie cutters

food dye and a toothpick

We started with three humble dirty potatoes (you can use more or less, each potato will make 2 stamps.)

Image

I peeled and washed my potatoes, you could always just wash your potatoes if you like.

Next I cut them in half across the middle. For most of the stamps I pressed cookie cutters into the flat surface on them and used it as a guide while I cut away the potato outside the cutter.

Image

I cut down about 1cm so the shape is distinct, but there is still a lot of potato to grip.

My gingerbread man cookie cutter was too big, so I used a toothpick dipped in food dye to draw a gingerbread man shape, and used it as a guide while I was cutting.

Image

(I really am not a great drawer but it got the job done)

And from there you just use them as you would regular stamps. You can either dip them into a puddle of paint and then stamp with them, or use a paint brush to paint the surface of the stamp like I did.

Image

The kids had a ball, and I got some great printed paper to use closer to Christmas.

Image

And envelopes for Christmas cards

Image

We sprinkled a little gold glitter on these ones.

Leave a Reply

